Across the “OUR”niverse

DSC_6045While tending to the small vineyard in our backyard, I noticed the grapes growing up and over the garage were not as plentiful as last year.  Thinking it was due to the new Los Angeles water restrictions the city implemented to move towards sustainable water conservation, I accepted the few grapes that had came forth and appreciated them all the more.  But it wasn’t until a few days later that I discovered the real reason for my lighter than usual harvest.

It was late in the night, well past midnight.  Kristy and I were sitting in the back office catching up on each other’s day when all the sudden we heard through the screen door what sounded like someone eating.  Startled, Kristy jumped up from her seat.  Trying to stay calm myself, I got up slowly from my chair, flipped on the back light and cautiously peered out the screen door.  As my eyes adjusted to the dimly lit backyard, I heard the rustling of vines over the garage.  Looking in the direction of the sound, I was pleasantly surprised to find a rather large raccoon sitting up and looking right at us eating our grapes.

Relieved it wasn’t an intruder and taken back by the sheer beauty of this creature, Kristy and I stepped outside to get a closer look.  Unaffected by our presence, he continued to eat while staring back at us as if we were just as interesting to look at.

As we watched him eat, Kristy exclaimed, “But he’s eating our grapes!”

“Yep.”  I said with a grin.

“Can’t you stop him?” She asked.

Not wanting to fight with Mother Nature or even knowing what to do even if I had wanted to, I asked in all sincerity, “What if we made him ours?”

“What do you mean?”  She asked.

“Well, if we made him ours, accepting him as part of our family, he wouldn’t be eating grapes that weren’t his.” I replied.

With a smile and nod, she said  “Yeah.  I like that.  Let’s make him ours.”

Making him ours, we shifted our perspective from wanting him to stop eating something that wasn’t his to hoping he was enjoying his grapes as much as we enjoyed watching him eat them.

After some time, appearing to be satiated, our newfound family member slowly turned and disappeared into the night.  Wishing him a goodnight, we headed to bed, feeling fortunate to have had the opportunity to spend such quality time with our raccoon.

A few days later, just as Kristy was leaving for work, she turned to me and said with a smile, “I think I heard our raccoon eating again last night.”

“I thought I did too.”  I replied.

“He sure is a noisy eater.”  She remarked.

“Yep.  He sure is.  If only we could teach him to eat with his mouth closed.” I replied.

****

Making him part of our family really opened our hearts.  So much so that I can’t help but wonder, “What else in my life could I make ours?”

Rob Gruber

Life Mastery Coach

Copyright 2009

12 responses to “Across the “OUR”niverse

  1. This is a wonderful story and I am so delighted to see you back writing again.
    I am starting my day with this story in mind and I feel I am in for a good day.

    Bless you

  2. Thanks, I like this perspective — it looks to me like, from this place, you could even get angry at the raccoon and stay concerned about his wellbeing — as opposed to doing what most of us would do and treating him as an enemy whose welfare we don’t care about.

  3. Love the question Tamara!

    Expanding on your question, I have to consider asking myself,

    “Who else could I welcome into my world?” Perhaps everyone and everything.

    Another question.

    “Who else could I welcome into my heart?” Perhaps everyone and everything.

    And yet another,

    “Who else could I welcome into my love?” Perhaps everyone and everything.

    From that space of love, we all become one. We all become love.

  4. Thanks for the comment Chris.

    The moment we make the raccoon truly ours, anger will disappear. it is difficult to possess two emotions at one time. If given the choice between suffering and love, I would chose love. That is where the “greater our” resides.

    The further we expand our definition of our life, our world, our heart, our love, our planet, the greater our ability to love is.

  5. Vanessa,

    Thank you for checking out my blog. I am so glad you like the story and I do hope you come back and often.

    Happy Birthday!!! Read your blog. Great stuff. Love your writing.

    Sincerely,
    Rob Gruber

  6. A friend of mine has said that if it feels like a sacrifice.. you should rethink it. It’s amazing how many people will rethink it’s worth – and not just their perspective. Nicely done.

  7. thanks for the reply,

    i can see how some one could see it as a sacrifice. that is one way of looking at the loss of the grapes.

    But from my perspective, I gained a friend, a family member of sorts and a greater connection to mother nature. Making things “ours” or if I were to switch to first person singular, “mine,” by making everything “mine,” the grapes, the raccoon, my neighbor, my lover and even my enemies, I come to a whole new perception of the world. I come to it with love, compassion and unity. I begin to see myself in everyone and everything. I become one with my raccoon, I become one with my lover, I become one with my enemy and perhaps understand him for the first time. In doing so, nothing is lost.

    The greater “our”ness or mine”ness” of things is truly a beautiful thing. When you make it all yours, your heart will open like you have never before.

    Thanks for your comment. I appreciate you, your thoughts and your blog. You have such a wonderful spirit.

    Sincerely,
    Rob Gruber

Leave a Reply

