The Door is Open! – Part I – A Story of Unconditional Love

Just after supper, the day before I was to leave my childhood home of Cincinnati, Ohio for the bright lights of New York City, I sat with my father on our front porch admiring his perfectly manicured lawn.

Just as the sun was about to set, my father humbly said, “I have a little something for you.”

Before I could say anything, he placed in my hands a beautiful clay sculpture of a Garden Pagoda, an Asian-styled gazebo, a symbol of our mutual love for gardening. Seeing the emotion that was coming over me, he lovingly added, “Do you see that? The door is open.”

Speechless, I nodded.

“These doors will always be open to you.” He said, not being able to hold back the tears. “You will always be welcomed home.”

“Thanks Dad!” I said, tearing up as well as I hugged him as tight as I could. “I love you, Pop!”

“I love you too Son.” He said hugging me back.

If you were to ask me to describe unconditional love to you I believe I would begin here…(to be continued)

Copyright 2008 Rob Gruber

5 responses to “The Door is Open! – Part I – A Story of Unconditional Love

  1. Thank you Mer, Tamara and Enreal for all your love and support! My door will always be open to you.

    And thank you Enreal for sharing your wisdom on your personal experience with unconditional love.

    sincerely,
    rob gruber

Leave a Reply

