Achieve Perfection by Redefining Perfect!

I spent a good portion of my life trying to achieve perfection in one form or another. But all of that changed one day when I found myself waiting for a friend in a quiet Irish Pub on a Sunday afternoon.

See, this was not your average run-of-the-mill Irish Pub, but a “Thank God I’m Irish-American Pub,” with pictures of presidents and historical documents lining the walls. And as I waited for my friend, I noticed a large copy of the United States Constitution hanging on the wall in front of me.

Seeing this as a sign that I was meant to reread the Constitution, I ordered a pint and began with the preamble, “We the people of the United States in order to form a more perfect union.” But then I stopped and asked myself, “More perfect? Is that even possible?”

Not realizing I was thinking aloud, an old Irishman sitting at the other end of the bar looked up from his Sunday paper and replied, “It all depends on how you define perfect.”

Seeing that I was not quite understanding him, he continued and said, ““The framers were visionaries, lad, forward thinkers. They didn’t see perfection as finite or unattainable but rather recognized the perfection of the moment at hand and the promise of future growth and possibility, leaving plenty of room for more perfect. Understand?”

I dutifully nodded and said, “Thank You.”

He nodded back with a slight grin on his face, took a sip of his whiskey and settled back into his morning paper as if we had never had this conversation. I, in turn, read the remainder of the Constitution over a second pint, paid my tab and thanked the old man once again for the civics lesson.

My friend never did show up, but I was now able to see the perfection in that.

Copyright 2007 Rob Gruber Life Coach

iwishicouldtellyou.com i wish i could tell you

If you liked this blog you may also like

9 responses to “Achieve Perfection by Redefining Perfect!

  1. I… didn’t understand this story. This may be due to my die-hard, relentless perfectionistic thinking, or it may just be my skepticism, but…

    It’s too positive. “Plenty of room for more perfect”? That’s too good to be true.

    If anyone can give me more insight into this by all means go ahead. I like to have an open mind but somehow I just cannot agree with the message conveyed by the story.

  2. thank you for your comment, Ana.

    The founding fathers revealed two things in the preamble to the constitution by writing the words “in order to from a more perfect union.” First, they saw the union as already perfect the way it was. Second, they saw it’s ability to be even more perfect with the adoption of a constitution. The only way for something to be “more perfect,” is for it to have been perfect in the first place; otherwise, they would simply have written “in order to form a perfect union.

    I, personally, believe and see the perfection within this present moment and I welcome the possibility that it could get even better or more prefect in the next.

  3. For the majority of my life I used to describe myself as being a perfectionist, which then became an excuse not to start anything out of fear of not getting it perfect.
    It wasn’t until I “redefined perfect” and realised that everything is perfect the way it is “with the possibility of it getting even better” as you so rightly put it, that the fear started to fade.

    Reading this reaffirms this for me.

    Thank you and with warmest wishes

    J

  4. J,

    There is an old saying that says that goes, “Either everything is perfect or nothing is.”

    Welcome to the “everything is prefect” club. It truly is liberating.

    Releasing the need to be perfect and realizing you already are, is a very loving place to be.

    presently,
    Rob Gruber

  5. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

    I’m Out! 🙂

  6. I have never responded to a blog but this perspective just rocked my world. I loved it! I am a person that also is always trying to achieve perfection and this was a great little positive story to think about when the sheer exhaust from striving to be “perfect” is just getting to you. Thanks!

  7. Kellie,

    You can give up trying and striving now, because YOU already are perfect in this very moment!

    thanks for your comment!

    You may also like my post on unbridled permission!

    Sincerely,
    Rob Gruber

Leave a Reply

