It’s a Wonder-full Life!

It’s official, there are 7 New Wonders of the world. It’s all over the news.

So I wondered…Why only seven and what was wrong with the old ones? Did they lose their wonder? Who got to decide and why wasn’t I asked?

In all this wondering, I came to the conclusion that there are an infinite number of wonders in my own little world that I witness and experience every day.

So I got out my journal and wrote at the top of a page “Seven Wonders of My World” and began writing about those things in my world that leave me with a sense of wonder and awe.

I did this every day for a week and then weekly after that. I will admit I did not follow my own direction. I didn’t stop at seven. I saw the number seven as more of a guideline.

Try this exercise to create a wonder-full life. I think it works best at the end of the day.

1.Get your journal out and write at the top of the page, “Seven Wonders of my World.”
2.Write down everything that fills you with a sense of wonder, awe, admiration, peace, joy or gratitude.
3. Do this everyday for a week and then once a week after that.

You may start off slow but once you get going you will begin to open up to the wonder of your world. Don’t take anything for granted.

To help you get started, here are a few of the things I recognized as wonders of my world.

My father’s courage to get two titanium knee replacements, his strength to undergo physical therapy and the technology behind the whole process, my mother’s ability to play 36 bingo cards and not have a nervous breakdown, my sister’s courage to work as a missionary, the simplicity and power of my Mac, the gift of waking up to a new day to live, laugh and love, my dear friend’s ability to survive her cancer, caramel coffee, the smoothness of this table and sturdiness of this chair, those who work toward peace, solar energy, the level sidewalk outside my home, organic foods, the mountains I live at the foot of, the cactus that will not die on me, my one pair of comfortable shoes, the world that keeps turning, the sun that keeps burning, the design of mass transit, electricity, rescue workers, the kindness of strangers, peace.

Now it’s your turn, what are the wonders of your world?

Copyright 2007 Rob Gruber iwishicouldtellyou i wish i could tell you

Leave a Reply

